Off topic - the best free editor EVER!! (Notepad++)

beholder

2008-05-25 02:21

I usually don't spam forums with messages like this, but this one really got my attention: I started coding more often recently, so I decided to set me up some decent syntax highlighting editor that would have the same or better functionality than Win32Pad. I used Win32Pad until now as a lightweight editor for text files and some coding, but it lacked syntax highlighting and serious programming focus.

To my surprise, out of three various alternatives (Vim, ConText and Notepad++) I kept only one: Notepad++, and it is AWESOME!
I found Vim just too cumbersome. ConText, on the other hand, is a good editor, but it is currently not actively developped and I couldn't find a way how to enable some things that I am just used to.

Notepad++ took ONE DAY to set up, but that day was worth it. In the end I have a relatively lighweight text editor that I can use for some serious programming and web design efforts (think syntax highlighting and HIGHLY customisable). I can't even name all the good features it has. If you use just some lightweight text editor to edit your PHP, HTML and CSS files YOU MUST TRY NOTEPAD++!! You will love it. Best of all, it's open source, totally free and actively developed.

That's it, I am just so happy with it. Over and out.

Beholder

P.S.
if you guys decide to try it and you get into some problems setting it up, let me know in this thread, I'll give you a helping hand.

» Quick.Cart v3.x

QC 3.0

FoTam74

No avatar

2008-05-25 13:24

Thanks. Installed it, replacing my old EditPadPro. Cool stuff indeed!

Q.C v3 - toyadesign.com/webshop

beholder

2009-03-11 01:42

ALL reserved keywords for PHP and JavaScript here!

Hi guys, I have just announced the following on the notepad++ user forum and thought I'd update all of you on this too: